Wendy Guerra

Wendy Guerra graduated in Cinema Directing at the Higher Institute of Art in Havana, and was a student of Gabriel García Márquez, attending his scriptwriting workshop “How to Tell a Tale”. From childhood, she acted on TV and in films. A poet and fiction writer, her first novel, Todos se van, won the Bruguera Prize, awarded by Eduardo Mendoza, the writer. Her fiction has been translated into several languages and been included in several anthologies of Cuban literature. She has given lectures at universities in Mexico, Argentina and the United States, and contributed to several magazines and reviews. In 2007 she was selected by the Hay Festival as one of the 39 most important Latin American writers under 39. In 2010 was named Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Government. She lives in Havana.


1987 University of Havana Prize for Platea a oscuras - 1994 Pinos Nuevos Prize for Cabeza rapada - 2006 Bruguera Prize for Todos se van - 2006 Critics' Prize from the El País newspaper as Best Novel of 2006 for Todos se van - 2009 Carbet des Lycéens Prize (France) for Todos se van - 2010 Order of Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres, awarded by the French Government - 2016 Officier des Arts e des Lettres, awarded by the French Government

Her books powerfully portray the uncomfortable grandchildren of the revolution. A generation facing the same ‘forbidden’ destiny as their predecessors, experiencing the forbidden in ways that are lighter, but which cause more suffering as well.
— L. Santiago Méndez Alpízar, El País
In what is looking like a crucial moment in the history of Cuba, Wendy Guerra has become the novelist of this metamorphosis, which could lead—as many of us hope—to something as difficult and humble as a democracy.
— Christopher Domínguez Michael, Letras Libres

Domingo de revolución
NOVEL, 2016

NOVEL, 2013

Posar desnuda en La Habana
NOVEL, 2011

Nunca fui Primera Dama
NOVEL, 2008

Ropa interior
POETRY, 2008

Todos se van
NOVEL, 2006

Cabeza rapada
POETRY, 2006

Platea a oscuras
POETRY, 1987